FREE SHIPPING* on orders over $35 • CURBSIDE PICK-UP available in as little as one hour!
NOTE: Deliveries to BC may be delayed due to road and rail closures.

Chunky

  • Softcover
  • Yehudi Mercado
  • Illustrated by Yehudi Mercado

AGES 8+

Your Shopping Cart contains a Digital Gift Card which must be purchased in full before adding any other items. Please complete Checkout before adding this item to your Shopping Cart.
Ways to Get your order

In this full-colour middle grade graphic memoir for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jerry Craft, Yehudi Mercado draws inspiration from his childhood struggle with his weight while finding friendship with his imaginary mascot, Chunky, as he navigates growing up in a working class Mexican-Jewish family. Hudi needs to lose weight, according to his doctors. Concerned about the serious medical issue Hudi had when he was younger, his parents push him to try out for sports. Hudi would rather do anything else, but then he meets Chunky, his imaginary friend and mascot. Together, they decide to give baseball a shot. As the only Mexican and Jewish kid in his neighborhood, Hudi has found the cheerleader he never had. Baseball doesn't go well (unless getting hit by the ball counts), but the two friends have a great time drawing and making jokes. While Hudi's parents keep trying to find the right sport for Hudi, Chunky encourages him to pursue his true love—comedy.But when Hudi's dad loses his job, it gets harder for Hudi to chart his own course, even with Chunky's guidance. Can Chunky help Hudi stay true to himself or will this friendship strike out?

Product Specification

Title: Chunky

ISBN: 9780062972781

Mastermind number: 221333

Shipping weight (lbs): 0.77

Package dimensions (inches): 7.87 x 7.48 x 1

Author: Yehudi Mercado

Illustrator: Yehudi Mercado

Format: Softcover

Publisher: HarperCollins

Pages: 208

What our customer are Saying