Toys
  • Books
  • To Boldly Go: How Nichelle Nichols and Star Trek Helped Advance Civil Rights Book

    AGES 4+

    Perfect for fans of Hidden Figures and Mae Among the Stars!

    To Boldly Go tells the true story of Nichelle Nichols and how she used her platform on Star Trek to inspire and recruit a new generation of diverse astronauts and many others in the space and STEM fields. As Lieutenant Uhura on the iconic prime-time television show Star Trek, Nichelle Nichols played the first Black female astronaut anyone had ever seen on screen. A smart, strong, independent Black woman aboard the starship Enterprise was revolutionary in the 1960s when only white men had traveled to outer space in real life and most Black characters on TV were servants.Nichelle not only inspired a generation to pursue their dreams, but also opened the door for the real-life pioneering astronaut Sally Ride, Dr. Mae Jemison, and more.This empowering tribute to the trailblazing pop culture icon reminds us of the importance of perseverance and the power of representation in storytelling. You just might be inspired to boldly go where no one like you has ever gone before!

    To Boldly Go: How Nichelle Nichols and Star Trek Helped Advance Civil Rights Book $23.99
    Back To Top
    FREE standard shipping on orders over $50
    Product Specification

    Title: To Boldly Go: How Nichelle Nichols and Star Trek Helped Advance Civil Rights Book

    ISBN: 9780063073210

    Mastermind number: 229830

    Shipping weight (lbs): 0.98

    Author: Angela Dalton

    Illustrator: Lauren Semmer

    Format: Hardcover

    Publisher: HarperCollins

    Pages: 40